Wexford GAA 2013

We play Westmeath away from home on Wednesday night in the Leinster Under 21 football championship. Staying on that theme, who have we brought through from the 2011 Leinster winning Under 21 team? Conor Carthy has been involved in the senior set up for a couple of years but gets used sparingly and mostly from the bench and Michael Furlong has started the first two league games now under Aidan O’Brien. Is there another couple on the bench / extended panel who have barely featured? Paidi Kelly and one or two more like O’Grady?

We have quite a poor underage football record in recent times - a knowledgeable football man involved in the development squad coaching system told me lately that we’ve the worst winning record in the province at minor level over the last decade apart from Kilkenny - so there hasn’t been a great deal of talent coming through. I guess that makes it important to drain everything possible out of a good team when it appears. We did that with the minor team who were beaten in the 1999 Leinster Final by Dublin after a replay by bringing through David Murphy, Niall Murphy, Eric Bradley and others I’ve forgotten. And then we got Brosnan, Waters etc from the U21 side beaten in the 2008 Leinster Final by Kildare, if my memory serves me correctly.

I thought Jason Ryan was too slow to integrate the best players from the 2011 Under 21 side into the senior team. As the great Brendan Furlong rightly said last year, it seemed like it had become impossible to get dropped off the Wexford senior football team. Some of these younger players appear to have drifted away now having not got the call in 2011 or 2012 and that makes it more difficult for Aidan O’Brien. I’ll therefore blame Jason Ryan if we get relegated this year but it’s hardly unexpected that a mercenary like him would take a completely short term view of things and ignore building for the future good of Wexford football. That said - at least we’ve won a game already, unlike the disastrous Division 2 campaign he presided over in 2009 and I retain total faith in Aidan O’Brien (despite his Good Counsel background).

Of that Leinster winning team, O Hanlon and O Regan were the 2 main players, and both are with the hurling set up. Then you have the likes of McGovern too who is in between sides and hips. After that, Furlong, Gaule, Killian Kehoe, Carty, Kelly, O Grady have been in and out of the squad, but I’m not sure who each would replace. Thats 9 of that side who have been in the senior set up since that win.

I had thought it before yesterday, but it reinforced it again, but Aindreas Doyle wont be good enough come championship if we are to do anything. Flynn needs to decide if he wants to be a player who scores spectacular shots from his weaker foot out near the sideline (or more often then not horrible wides), or if he wants to go back to what made him good as a defender who could attack and do the simple things well. Chin isnt a centre back either. He doesnt hold the role and make an impact int he same way Murphy does. He was far too loose on his man, and pretty much all their creative attacking play came through the centre forward. Brosnan needs to work a lot harder than he is right now. Great talent, but not worth it if he wont work to get the ball or work to get it back.

Wadding is looking better this year, and Waters has had a great start to the year. We need a partner for him though. Molloy is playing well again too, and Malone. Could do with Lyng back in as the left footed corner forward to work with PJ on the opposite side. Roch had some nice touches yesterday, but they were few and far between.

Thanks for the clarifications, Gman. I’ve concluded that Ryan made a poor effort to integrate these players into the senior team.

I agree overall regarding Chin but I’d qualify that by arguing he was in a no-win situation yesterday. Their defenders were marauding forward through the centre untracked by our forwards (a longstanding bug-bear of mine) and the centre forward was pulling wide to either act as a decoy or to receive a pass. He was fairly damned if he followed his man out wide and vacated the centre or if he held his ground, confronted the runner and allowed him to pop the ball off to his direct opponent.

Brosnan worked very hard in Armagh, was mixed at home to Longford and below par yesterday. It was a collective problem though and I also agreed with your previous point about some of our lads making a token effort to get back behind the ball but not doing so with any real intensity and not putting any pressure on the man in possession. They’d just switch the play and angle of attack and cut through us again. You’d see one of their defenders bomb on to a ball with a forward trailing behind him, the forward would get back goalside and the man would hold it up and lay it off to the next runner arriving at pace with another one of our forwards trailing in his wake. It all appeared a bit flat and half-hearted.

Lack of communication and poor decision making was also an issue. For example, one of their early second half points involved the right half back strolling through the centre to knock a point over after someone wide on the right fisted a pass infield to him. I was looking at our defence as the move developed and one of their forwards sprinted back into his own half and one of our defenders teared after him to leave the space for the wing back to come into. It was Vermaelenesque the way he steamed forward into their half when the danger was arriving into his territory.

Playing Flynn in the forwards didn’t really work and, just to be boring, I agree with your comments on him too. He hasn’t been the same since he tweeted the local paper man to complain about his match rating in last year’s Leinster semi-final against Dublin! It’s like he’s trying to match the 5 points from play haul he got against Longford in the championship last year in every game instead of playing the percentage pass.

It’s hardly rocket science but we need our best players playing their best football to compete and the likes of Brosnan and Barry weren’t anywhere near their best level yesterday and an overall lack of intensity and urgency compounded the problem.

quote=“Bandage, post: 743875, member: 9”]Thanks for the clarifications, Gman. I’ve concluded that Ryan made a poor effort to integrate these players into the senior team.

I agree overall regarding Chin but I’d qualify that by arguing he was in a no-win situation yesterday. Their defenders were marauding forward through the centre untracked by our forwards (a longstanding bug-bear of mine) and the centre forward was pulling wide to either act as a decoy or to receive a pass. He was fairly damned if he followed his man out wide and vacated the centre or if he held his ground, confronted the runner and allowed him to pop the ball off to his direct opponent.

Brosnan worked very hard in Armagh, was mixed at home to Longford and below par yesterday. It was a collective problem though and I also agreed with your previous point about some of our lads making a token effort to get back behind the ball but not doing so with any real intensity and not putting any pressure on the man in possession. They’d just switch the play and angle of attack and cut through us again. You’d see one of their defenders bomb on to a ball with a forward trailing behind him, the forward would get back goalside and the man would hold it up and lay it off to the next runner arriving at pace with another one of our forwards trailing in his wake. It all appeared a bit flat and half-hearted.

Lack of communication and poor decision making was also an issue. For example, one of their early second half points involved the right half back strolling through the centre to knock a point over after someone wide on the right fisted a pass infield to him. I was looking at our defence as the move developed and one of their forwards sprinted back into his own half and one of our defenders teared after him to leave the space for the wing back to come into. It was Vermaelenesque the way he steamed forward into their half when the danger was arriving into his territory.

Playing Flynn in the forwards didn’t really work and, just to be boring, I agree with your comments on him too. He hasn’t been the same since he tweeted the local paper man to complain about his match rating in last year’s Leinster semi-final against Dublin! It’s like he’s trying to match the 5 points from play haul he got against Longford in the championship last year in every game instead of playing the percentage pass.

It’s hardly rocket science but we need our best players playing their best football to compete and the likes of Brosnan and Barry weren’t anywhere near their best level yesterday and an overall lack of intensity and urgency compounded the problem.[/quote]

Their defenders were marauding forward through the centre untracked by our forwards.
This drives me mad as it completely hangs out the defence, and gives space to the runner, I mean just get a hand on the defender who’s going forward, check his run for a second and keep with him. Some of our better players in the forwards are notorious for their token efforts to cover.

Playing Flynn in the forwards didn’t really work.

This didnt work in 2008 or since so I dont see it working now. he’s at his best joing the attack late in scroable position as he did against longford.

What every other team in the division seems to have that we are lacking is a scoring midfielder.

[quote=“count of monte cristo, post: 743903, member: 348”]

What every other team in the division seems to have that we are lacking is a scoring midfielder.[/quote]

Any chance Boccy might come back?!
Apart from Bradley and Fogarty to a lesser extent, we’ve not had a scoring midfielder or even one who’s confident kicking the ball in recent years

[quote=“Mac, post: 743905, member: 109”]Any chance Boccy might come back?!
Apart from Bradley and Fogarty to a lesser extent, we’ve not had a scoring midfielder or even one who’s confident kicking the ball in recent years[/quote]

Next year I think. We could do with his scoring prowess though.

[quote=“Mac, post: 743905, member: 109”]Any chance Boccy might come back?!
Apart from Bradley and Fogarty to a lesser extent, we’ve not had a scoring midfielder or even one who’s confident kicking the ball in recent years[/quote]

His fielding has been outstanding for the club in the last few games. Finally shaking off Jasons Ryan’s instructions of boxing the ball on…

He’d only do a similar job to boccy, if we had another option at Full back I;d like to see how Molloy would fare in the middle, hes good in the air and has a burst of speed.

Strange sean Gaules hasnt got look in at Full back in any cahllenges or anything, what if Molloy gets hurt? who’ll go in full then? very few options really.

I haven’t seen any confirmation from Andrew Shore or either of the managers but I take it that he’s concentrating solely on hurling. He doesn’t appear to have been with the squad for any of the football league games and actually played in the Walsh Cup the day of the football opener against Longford.

Playing mostly hurling form what I hear, did himself a disservice playing the league final hurt last year.

One criticism I would have had of Ryan was lads not training all week before a game, due to injury, and then playing in the game strapped up to the last.

It’s in the local papers today that he is only playing hurling this year.

Some good reading in this thread, glad to see Bandage back in the Wexford football fold :clap:

[quote=“padjo, post: 744378, member: 127”]It’s in the local papers today that he is only playing hurling this year.

Some good reading in this thread, glad to see Bandage back in the Wexford football fold :clap:[/quote]

what’s Parnells hurling team like?

balls.ie have lifted a few quotes of the great Liam Spratt

1. And here’s Sean Flood – son of the late great Tim Flood………. hold on a minute Tim’s not dead!

2. Was the traffic bad on your way up, Billy?” “About the same, Liam. I was in your car.

3. That was definitely a free there, it was as obvious as……as snow on a rope

4. And the ball is hit in………and AND ITS A GOOOAL FOR WEXFORD…. and when I say Wexford of course I mean Laois

5. …And it’s a lineball for Wexford. There’s a break in play now while Seán Flood receives some attention……. And while there is I’d just like to offer my sincere condolences to the Murphy family in Clonroche on the sad passing of Mary last weekend…. She was a loving wife and mother and all were fond of her in the community…… Herself and her husband Tim were always involved in the local scene and especially the GAA…….Mary always gave her time up for others and I still remember the time when I met……GOOOAAAALLLL!!! A GOAL FOR WEXFORD!!!

6. Jaysus they’re lovely sandwiches. Billy will ya go down there and find out who made those sandwiches

7. He kicks it from his hand with his left hand…!!! oohh foot even

8. Dublin would have fully deserved a draw if they had won

9. A GOOOOOAAAALLLLLL. A great goal for Wexford. Fantastic goal there Ned. I didn’t see the goal or who scored it as I was talking to Liam Griffin. Did you see the goal Ned?

10. I can see by the look on his face he’s not too happy, even though he has his back to me!

[quote=“myboyblue, post: 745025, member: 180”]balls.ie have lifted a few quotes of the great Liam Spratt

1. And here’s Sean Flood – son of the late great Tim Flood………. hold on a minute Tim’s not dead!

2. Was the traffic bad on your way up, Billy?” “About the same, Liam. I was in your car.

3. That was definitely a free there, it was as obvious as……as snow on a rope

4. And the ball is hit in………and AND ITS A GOOOAL FOR WEXFORD…. and when I say Wexford of course I mean Laois

5. …And it’s a lineball for Wexford. There’s a break in play now while Seán Flood receives some attention……. And while there is I’d just like to offer my sincere condolences to the Murphy family in Clonroche on the sad passing of Mary last weekend…. She was a loving wife and mother and all were fond of her in the community…… Herself and her husband Tim were always involved in the local scene and especially the GAA…….Mary always gave her time up for others and I still remember the time when I met……GOOOAAAALLLL!!! A GOAL FOR WEXFORD!!!

6. Jaysus they’re lovely sandwiches. Billy will ya go down there and find out who made those sandwiches

7. He kicks it from his hand with his left hand…!!! oohh foot even

8. Dublin would have fully deserved a draw if they had won

9. A GOOOOOAAAALLLLLL. A great goal for Wexford. Fantastic goal there Ned. I didn’t see the goal or who scored it as I was talking to Liam Griffin. Did you see the goal Ned?

10. I can see by the look on his face he’s not too happy, even though he has his back to me![/quote]

Hilarious. What a man

They also robbed this illustration and few quotes too from yellowbelly.ie

U21s out tonight in Westmeath. I wouldnt know much about the team, but some very odd positional selections from the few players I do know on it.

Michael O’Toole;
Darren Foley, Thomas Cullen, Aidan Cash;
Jack Kelly, Diarmuid O’Keefe, Lee Chin;
Colm Kehoe, Edward O’Byrne;
John Tubritt, Cathal O’Brien, A J Lehan;
Lee Devereux, Graeme Cullen, Robert Dempsey.

Subs: Stephen Corrigan, Graham Carty, Eddie Shiely, Matthew Cody, Alan Tobin, Padraig Doyle, Patrick Breen, Gavin Murphy, Brendan Hughes

[quote=“Gman, post: 745033, member: 112”]They also robbed this illustration and few quotes too from yellowbelly.ie

http://www.yellowbelly.ie/uploads/4/1/7/6/4176007/3240835_orig.jpg[/quote]

Cowboys Ted

I’d say I’m not the only one but Spratt interviewed me once as I came out of the shower. No shame that man

What was he doing in your house?

[quote=“Gman, post: 745078, member: 112”]U21s out tonight in Westmeath. I wouldnt know much about the team, but some very odd positional selections from the few players I do know on it.

Michael O’Toole;
Darren Foley, Thomas Cullen, Aidan Cash;
Jack Kelly, Diarmuid O’Keefe, Lee Chin;
Colm Kehoe, Edward O’Byrne;
John Tubritt, Cathal O’Brien, A J Lehan;
Lee Devereux, Graeme Cullen, Robert Dempsey.

Subs: Stephen Corrigan, Graham Carty, Eddie Shiely, Matthew Cody, Alan Tobin, Padraig Doyle, Patrick Breen, Gavin Murphy, Brendan Hughes[/quote]

Lots of mogues cunts…

Chin went off injured on Sunday - wonder if he’ll be fit to play.