Wexford GAA 2013

why ?..has the score changed??..:smiley:

Keaney didn’t play in the full forward line at any stage yesterday, pal.

Cumspot continues to make a holy show of himself on this thread

Over on resdubs they are saying a dublin player tried stab shore with a broken handle of a hurl before the sending off…can anyone shed any light on this…if true the sunday game should be interesting tonight…

Very disappointing performance and result last night. Shore’s sending off right at the outset made things very difficult but I thought our response was quite disappointing. We kept plugging away but there didn’t seem to be a collective belief that we could win it with 14 men. It was a very reckless strike and Shore can’t really have any complaints. That said, this is a referee who took no action when a player struck him in the head in an All Ireland final in the past.

I’m going to complain, however, but it’s a general thing. As I mentioned last week, these games are refereed completely differently to a Kilkenny-Tipperary match for example. Challenges that aren’t fouls in bigger matches are in these ones. It’s absolutely ridiculous but so be it. It also explicitly stated in the programme that puck outs could not be taken quickly and the referee’s whistle would signal the restart of the game but Dublin were allowed to take quick puck outs to the extra man throughout.

I thought our changes to cope with the sending off didn’t work and it was a mistake to take Chin out of midfield. We basically moved a few players back a line - Morris from corner to wing forward leaving Guiney and Jacob inside in a 2-man full forward line, Redmond from wing forward to midfield, Chin from midfield to wing back and Kenny inside to centre back. I would have moved Redmond from wing forward to wing back and left Chin in the middle.

Eoin Moore should have done better for their goal but played fairly well otherwise, while Mossy Waters had another very good game at full back and was probably our best player. Our reshaped half back line didn’t go all that well without being completely overrun either though Keaney gave Chin some problems. Would agree with Mac on distribution needing to be better from Kehoe, and Kenny too.

Midfield wasn’t great either and I was expecting David Redmond to rebound after a quiet game last weekend but it didn’t really happen for him again. Harry Kehoe was alright without being overly impressive.

We struggled upfront and them having the extra man floating around between the full back line and half back line made it more difficult to get our danger men on the ball. Morris knocked over a couple of decent second half points from left half forward but Sinnott and Quigley weren’t too prominent.

Doran came on and set up Sinnott for a great goal chance after sloppy Dublin defending but Maguire came out to block - he possibly could have been sharper to finish it instead of throwing it up at a height that allowed the keeper to intervene.

Jacob looked dangerous but we didn’t get enough ball to him - again, the extra man was a factor here - but Guiney was shackled fairly well. Doran got a decent point too actually but the 0-12 registered tells the story really. We just didn’t look like creating enough chances to apply any real pressure on them.

Obviously it was our own fault in going down to 14 men but, because it happened so early, it’s hard to know how a 15 versus 15 contest would have transpired. We weren’t good at all and neither were Dublin actually though it may have been a case of them being happy enough to keep us at bay. I don’t know though - they haven’t played well in a couple of years so it was a real opportunity missed for us.

We now have the scenario where we’ll probably go further than them in the championship because of the ridiculous championship system. Antrim at home next Saturday evening for us.

Really? Shore was lying down during a passage of play at 0-1 to Nil when they were attacking but we recovered the ball and won a free. We went upfield and won another free which Guiney pointed and I think it was from that puck-out at 0-1 apiece that Shore pulled on yer man.

dunno i was at the far end of the field and didnt see anything…a few of the dubs lads there are saying they saw it too and are disgusted… its on the match thread over on resdubs…if its true and was caught on camera the dublin player will be in for a lenghty ban…be interesting to see who it was…my guess is one of the more rotund dub players who has a checkered past involving a serious incident with his own clubmate in rathmines one night…

Of course, the big news in Wexford GAA circles this weekend was the player revolt which has resulted in Wexford Camogie County Board removing Martin Lynch as senior county team manager and reinstating JJ Doyle as manager for the championship campaign. Doyle managed Wexford to three All-Ireland titles in a row but took over as Under 21 hurling manager this season so is this a tacit admission that he doesn’t think we’ll be in the U21 championship much longer?

Who was the Dub who got 3 or 4 clear punches in on Eoin Moore when he had him pinned to the ground? Looked to be a fair ould boxer. Must’ve played underage with Diarmuid Connolly.

spot on re Chin Bandage. He was very poor at wing back. Well beaten by Keaney. Chin played well when he moved to midfield last 15 minutes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oDzEUXJ4BPc

Who was the Kilkenny player that gets blocked down?

Peter barry iirc

did dublin win by 5+ points or not mate?..or is that a cliche ?..:smiley:

Well, we definitely still need to work on this. Fair enough, Shore was stabbed before launching into his sending off pull but he needed to compose himself and pick his moment for revenge. He didn’t even hit the right guy either and it was hardly wise to lash out with everyone’s eyes on him and the ball dropping down into his area. We again conceded too many frees in scoring territory too, which was disappointing. Are there time or match bans in championship hurling these days?

So has it been confirmed shore was more sinned against than ! He was foolish though … as all good gaa men know ya wait for the right moment to flake a lad back …

Twas a Tipp man he hit, there’s never not a right moment for that

So has it been confirmed shore was more sinned against than ! He was foolish though … as all good gaa men know ya wait for the right moment to flake a lad back …

The irony of Michael Duignan giving out about dirty pulling in hurling is so thick you could choke on it.

Never mind the filth the dirty cunt used to bring to the field of the play but he’s been saying for years on The Sunday Game that the games have been reffed too strictly and there should be some leeway. Then to hear the cunt get all sanctimonious about the poor scared Dublin players last night was completely sickening.

[quote=“croppy_boy, post: 787758, member: 306”]The irony of Michael Duignan giving out about dirty pulling in hurling is so thick you could choke on it.

Never mind the filth the dirty cunt used to bring to the field of the play but he’s been saying for years on The Sunday Game that the games have been reffed too strictly and there should be some leeway. Then to hear the cunt get all sanctimonious about the poor scared Dublin players last night was completely sickening.[/quote]
Duignan has admitted many times he should have been sent off for that pull. Does it make him any less qualified to discuss that dirty pull? I think not.