Wexford GAA 2015

Australia bound?

Joyce is being tapped up by Sydney for AFL and O Connor is being signed up by Southampton after he finishes the junior cert in June.

Junior Cert? And heā€™s 17??

apologies, my fat fingers typed a 7 instead of a 6. He is still under 16 this year as far as I know.

FAO @count of monte cristo

Whiteā€™s in Wexford town might be your best bet. Bit of nightlife and only a 10 min spin out the road to Curracloe. Amber Springs in Gorey either but itā€™s very kids focused so might be head wrecking if youā€™ve left your own for the weekend.

If you want somewhere a bit more up market look at Seafield. Itā€™ll be full of Dubs who think theyā€™re somebody and the lad who built it didnā€™t pay any of his bills but itā€™s a nice golf / spa hotel and has its own beach walking distance from the rooms. Youā€™d need to head into Gorey though for craic and shouldering contests.

I read on hoganstand there that the county challenge games that caused the cancellation of the full round of club fixtures ended up being cancelled, because Waterford went and played a round of club fixtures instead and cancelled the county games. and round and round it goes.

BREAKING NEWS: Faythe Harriers have defeated Ferns by a point.

Cmmmmmaaaaannnnn.

Double postā€¦

Ah shure weā€™re making great strides at underage, hurling365 etc etc. No debt etc etc. Great facebook clips etc etc.

[QUOTE=ā€œGman, post: 1131417, member: 112ā€]apologies, my fat fingers typed a 7 instead of a 6. He is still under 16 this year as far as I know.

FAO @count of monte cristo

http://i61.tinypic.com/2db3vo5.jpg[/QUOTE]
Firstly Iā€™m not sure how one (TM B Furlong) measures credit in this instance. Is it in column inches? Internet threads or Facebook likes?

Secondly I donā€™t think people really give that much of a fuck except for maybe some ex Counsel students. People pass through school and itā€™s great or itā€™s not and sure youā€™d be in to it at the time but GAA people are primarily affiliated to their club and then county.

In summation I donā€™t think people really care. The author of the article is probably more interested in shit like that than most punters.

Itā€™s shambles from top to bottom. A clusterfuck. Three birds with the one stone for fuck sake. I assume your past tense is incorrect here? And it should be future tense. In anycase Wexford leads the way in idiocy again.

[QUOTE=ā€œAppendage, post: 1132905, member: 11ā€]Firstly Iā€™m not sure how one (TM B Furlong) measures credit in this instance. Is it in column inches? Internet threads or Facebook likes?

Secondly I donā€™t think people really give that much of a fuck except for maybe some ex Counsel students. People pass through school and itā€™s great or itā€™s not and sure youā€™d be in to it at the time but GAA people are primarily affiliated to their club and then county.

In summation I donā€™t think people really care. The author of the article is probably more interested in shit like that than most punters.[/QUOTE]

I suppose my point being, as I referenced elsewhere, was that despite the continued success of a successful underage structure at good counsel, it doesnā€™t translate like it should to county level. From a hurling point of view many good players from what would be considered lesser clubs play well at a high level, but the common factor in Wexford would seem to put more importance on the senior clubs status rather than their underage club or their school. And most of good counsels hurling achievments get dismissed for being led by kilkenny involvement.

The football, in my opinion is somewhat stranger. I actually think that these days GCC players put more importance in school than minor county. Can only guess why, but Iā€™d imagine one of the factors being that they probably see more success potential there than at county.

I suppose I have more reason than most to be taking the interest in it much like the author of the piece, hence why I thought it was a decent read.

[QUOTE=ā€œGman, post: 1132926, member: 112ā€]I suppose my point being, as I referenced elsewhere, was that despite the continued success of a successful underage structure at good counsel, it doesnā€™t translate like it should to county level. From a hurling point of view many good players from what would be considered lesser clubs play well at a high level, but the common factor in Wexford would seem to put more importance on the senior clubs status rather than their underage club or their school. And most of good counsels hurling achievments get dismissed for being led by kilkenny involvement.

The football, in my opinion is somewhat stranger. I actually think that these days GCC players put more importance in school than minor county. Can only guess why, but Iā€™d imagine one of the factors being that they probably see more success potential there than at county.

I suppose I have more reason than most to be taking the interest in it much like the author of the piece, hence why I thought it was a decent read.[/QUOTE]

The consistent dual success is interesting alright. How do they do it at what is a decent level? Particularly at senior where the competitions run concurrently.

What year did you leave Peters?

Oh now I couldnā€™t be disclosing that. You might be able to use it to figure out my off line identify.

Lads could someone throw up directions to Declan Barron Hurley maker? Iā€™m coming from bunclody and know heā€™s outside marshalstown but not exactly sure where. Thanks.

@wexico14 - google him, his mobile no is on his facebook page, actually on the hurls as well. Give him a call, he can guide you in.

His home place is roughly around here (not exact for obvious reasons). I doubt heā€™s too far away from here.

Fair play lads. Thanks.

Is it a mistake on Leinster GAA twitter or have our all conquering and Leinster pre-season league winning minor hurling side just been knocked out of the championship at home to Westmeath? :eek: