We’re leading 1-15 to 17 points but no idea how long is left
Is Belfield (Enniscorthy) closed? An absolutely ridiculous place to bring the match.
The training centre in ferns would’ve been better.
Or Oulart. Or Horeswood.
Early mind games from Davy
Final score - 1.17 to 17 points. Bandage will give us a report in about 3 hours after he manages to get out of there.
1-14 to 0-17 with a couple of minutes left and progression to the latter stages of the Walsh Cup on an absolute fucking knife-edge. The stakes really couldn’t have been higher but that’s when Faythe Harriers players will naturally come to the fore. A massive long range point by Richie Kehoe, a free from distance by Lee Chin and then a Chin point from play after marauding through the centre sealed the victory.
Only the 9 on Davy’s management team so far. And himself makes it the even 10.
County board view it as an investment.
Winning All Irelands cost money.
Decent report by uilleann piper extraordinaire Conor McKeon here. It was indeed a fairly spicy encounter with a few flash points. A brawl on the wing spilled over the sideline and into the crowd during the second half. It was pretty competitive and a high tempo for the time of year. Rare to be watching physical inter-county exchanges so close up - another big home crowd with supporters behind a rope about 3 yards back from the line all around the field.This of course resulted in the rope being trampled down and people practically standing on the pitch.
The young Dublin side seemed committed anyway despite the regular negative stories surrounding experienced player departures. Crummey really was excellent and has impressed me any time I’ve seen him play. Maybe Cunningham works better crafting a team from young players than dealing with a lot of veterans?
Davy fitz remains unbeaten. Bet those Clare lads are feeling like some pricks now.
It’s a long time since we made it to February unbeaten. We can but dream.
TAN will be in again any day now to cast doom over ye boys. He couldn’t bear to see Davy succeed even with his own county.
I did call it let clare burn now
That’s the thing with our manager. He’s generous, gracious and wants everybody in the backroom team listed and recognised for their contribution. It’s “me, me, me” with other self-obsessed managers but Davy acknowledges it’s all about the collective working together for the betterment of Wexford hurling.
As far s I can recollect that’s the first time Wexford have beaten Dublin in Senior Hurling since 2008. I have a feeling it will be happening a little more frequently in the coming years.
Some of the Dublin young lads are very good prospects but unfortunately we are in a position where they are going to have to play them all at once rather than being introduced gradually, If they hold their own during the league it will be a real good indicator but I would fear we will be overrun. The Cuala lads missing could be the final straw.
Is Jack Guiney back in the fold under the new regime?
I was thinking about our record against Dublin last night and I also settled on 2008 being our last victory against them. I could be missing a Walsh Cup encounter (or two but certainly not last year’s final when Dublin beat us) but we’ve lost to Dublin in the Leinster championship in 2009, 2013 (after a replay), 2014 and 2016. I can’t recall any league wins over that time either. Hopefully it’ll be happening frequently alright - the 2009 defeat under Colm Bonnar was in hindsight two teams going in different directions after we’d narrowly beaten Dublin in 2007 and 2008 (after a replay).
PS, who’s the Dublin coach / selector with the ginger stubble / beard? He seemed to be doing the warm up and making a lot of the calls on the sideline?
FAO of @GeoffreyBoycott - Guiney is back in the fold but he’s got a hamstring strain or some other minor injury and was tied up with his college for the Walsh Cup.
Cheers for that.
How did my cousin James Breen acquit himself last night?
He did well. Typically tight and dogged.
I would think that is Liam Walsh from Faughs. He hurled for Dublin in the 90’s and was one of our better players at the time. He also won a football All Ireland in 95. A bit surprised to hear he is so prominent because he has been a “hands in the pockets” type selector for the last couple of years.
We’ve given up home venue to Kilkenny for Sunday’s Walsh Cup semi-final.
Throw in will be at 2pm in New Ross.