[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 809917, member: 24”]I’d say Pat’s ego was hurt when his Frontline show got usurped into Prime Time. No longer was he the centre of attention. Now he had to share the stage with O’Callaghan and Byrne who some people (not me) would want to see more anyway.
I never liked Kenny. I thought him atrocious in light entertainment. Anyone who disagrees watch his interview with Jerry Seinfeld. I thought he was overrated in current affairs and could noticeably take a side in the proceedings - like he did in a teachers debate a year or so back. He also struck me as someone who loved himself and that is never good.
[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 809917, member: 24”]I’d say Pat’s ego was hurt when his Frontline show got usurped into Prime Time. No longer was he the centre of attention. Now he had to share the stage with O’Callaghan and Byrne who some people (not me) would want to see more anyway.
I never liked Kenny. I thought him atrocious in light entertainment. Anyone who disagrees watch his interview with Jerry Seinfeld. I thought he was overrated in current affairs and could noticeably take a side in the proceedings - like he did in a teachers debate a year or so back. He also struck me as someone who loved himself and that is never good.
He must be on the wind down now.[/quote]
He certainly wasn’t much use at light entertainment, though he was better on the radio. I thought he was generally very good on current affairs - like all presenters he occasionally irked but he was generally very balanced and articulate, if a little arrogant some times.
He has always been better on the radio than the tv anyway so he will be concentrating on the strengths of his broadcasting at Newstalk. Big decision from RTÉ now whether they continue with a current affairs type slot (which they’re very strong at) or go for a mix with entertainment like Tubridy would give them (which they’re awful at).
Pat doesn’t have a pension entitlement from RTE.
He said that he still has two children studying so he [SIZE=14px][FONT=Trebuchet MS]“couldn’t afford to throw everything in”[/FONT][/SIZE]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS]Asked if his pension had been hit due to the deepening economic crisis, Kenny said: “Oh yeah, of course it has. Absolutely. I took all the advice that was on offer about Bank of Ireland and AIB shares, of course I did. I have lost a significant amount. I have been affected just like everybody else in those terms. . . . And unlike some of my younger colleagues, I am not too many years away from the time when I will require a pension.”[/FONT]
I was hoping they would have put Kenny into the George Hook slot and got rid of Hook. His show is shite, with his spitting and sputtering into the microphone and then licking the arses of every Fine Gael politician that comes on the show, he deserves to be put out to pasture.
I wonder if RTE will give Joe Duffy the 10 - 12 slot now.
[quote=“TreatyStones, post: 810345, member: 1786”]Pat doesn’t have a pension entitlement from RTE.
He said that he still has two children studying so he [SIZE=14px][FONT=Trebuchet MS]“couldn’t afford to throw everything in”[/FONT][/SIZE][/quote]
Kenny wasn’t an RTE employee.
I dont think any of the top presenters are RTE employees, I think most of them are like Kenny and are contractors, So they dont have any pension entitlements.
[quote=“tazdedub, post: 810363, member: 312”]I was hoping they would have put Kenny into the George Hook slot and got rid of Hook. His show is shite, with his spitting and sputtering into the microphone and then licking the arses of every Fine Gael politician that comes on the show, he deserves to be put out to pasture.
I wonder if RTE will give Joe Duffy the 10 - 12 slot now. :)[/quote]
Hooks listenership would suggest otherwise
I wonder if RTE will give the Pat Kenny slot over to Philip Boucher Hayes. That would definitely create some competition for Pat Kenny. Will Pat be able to keep court report segment going.
How would it create competition? Philip Boucher Hayes is a very poor presenter. He has an incredibly smug and condescending style, while often failing to grasp very basic aspects of the issue being discussed.
He said it was shite, its not. It may not be to his taste but it is to his listeners of which there is a substantial amount, enough to shuffle the OTB lads to the podcast when challenged.