Whats the best Irish radio station to listen to?

Listened by chance to a smashing little documentary on RTE Radio 1 there just now called “Don’t Go Far” about two kids from Darndale aged 13 and 10 who were sent down to the shops by their parents one afternoon in August 1985 and stowed away to New York via Dun Leary, Holyhead and Heathrow.

it is

How the fuck does John Murray have a primetime RTÉ Radio slot? I know they have some rotten presenters but he’s peerless.

“Today, we’re talking about honest mistakes. Text me if you’ve ever benefited from an honest mistake.” FFS. They should move the Sean O’Rourke show earlier to start straight after Morning Ireland, this is unlistenable.

[QUOTE=“Rocko, post: 1128398, member: 1”]How the fuck does John Murray have a primetime RTÉ Radio slot? I know they have some rotten presenters but he’s peerless.

“Today, we’re talking about honest mistakes. Text me if you’ve ever benefited from an honest mistake.” FFS. They should move the Sean O’Rourke show earlier to start straight after Morning Ireland, this is unlistenable.[/QUOTE]
Good call. It’s terrible shit alright. He must have some influence in Montrose.

Donnacha O’Dulaing presents his final show tonight. End of an era.

He was an OK sort. No Ciarán MacMathúna though.

An awful fucking eejit

Yeah, bit if a gombeen man alright but the show is associated with fond memories of Saturday evenings at home when my grandparents were alive.

Saw him geneflecting in front of a bust of Gay Byrne in the RTE grounds the other night on Nationwide, that’s all I needed to know.

O’Donoghue gave baroness nuala o’loan (spelling?) a good chasing this morning.

about what?

Jesus Christ Irish radio is brutal, I had it on yesterday morning and had to turn it off, withering on about the exact same shit as 7 years ago, the banks, the economy blah blah blah. Thank god for Chris Evans, Alan Brazil, grimmy and bbc Surrey, some lad on today fm could not even pronounce words with “th” in them properly, what an embarrassment

The gays

That’s Charleville for you.

I listened to Talk sport the other night. Mark Saggers and Stan roaring at each other. Brutal.

Podcasting is the way forward lads.

Phone docking station for the car, cable into the aux port and off you go. No excuse to be listening to the shite that’s being dribbled out on Irish radio. (Marty Whelans morning show on Lyric aside)

Yates/Donoghue is fierce dated at this stage, needs a revamp badly. Coleman is not the answer either.

http://www.shannonside.ie/

Yer man Brendan O’Connor was on the radio this morning after taking over from that John Murray chap. Jaysus he’s hopeless. Every second sentence started with Sooo Aaaaah. Which would be bad enough if it wasn’t in a piece that was supposed to be a quick fire monologue.

It is one of life’s mysteries how he managed to land a broadcasting job, not to mind hosting a prime time chat show. He must be holding Noel Curran in RTE to ransom on something juicey anyway.