Whats the best Irish radio station to listen to?

[quote=“sid waddell”]Off the Ball is still miles ahead of RTE Radio sport because they do items that RTE wouldn’t do in a million years. I think the fact you don’t mind the banter just means you’re getting old. RTE are too middle of the road and a lot of their radio
sport operation smacks of a “jobs for the boys” culture. Surely they can do better than the likes of Des Cahill and Brian Carthy.[/quote]

Indeed most of OTB is better than RTE fare, Daragh Moloney’s 30 min is very good though at 7-7.30
I probably am getting old, or maybe its just that the banter seems forced and unfunny now. I’m listening to them since 2002 so it bound to wear thin

[quote=“cailinlochgarman”]would listen to beat now and again when around home… usually just if driving in evening for music and they do top 40 on a sunday evening…
but they also try some stupid competitions like there was the beat fugitive, the beat wedding and the most recent was where i think they like gave 2 brides 50 quid each and whoever got further away from waterford in 24 hours won a wedding reception and you couldnt get help from family or friends[/quote]

The beat wedding was some farce of a yoke. I’d sorta know both of the couple. Fookin weirdos.

:DI’m begining to think Rocko is right when I say I solve everything with ferries.

Hitch hike to Rosslare and get a sail and rail from Rosslare to Inverness, that would come in under the 50.

Coleman at Large on Newstalk has to be the worst current affairs programme on Irish radio, a haven for vested interests, conservative Catholics and people who think the property market needs to be re-inflated, which is what he’s just been talking about. The best is yet to come :lol:

I don’t get the critisisms of Phantom on here tbh. It’s the only station playing any sort of alternative or new music. McCloone is an improvement on that dildo Tom Dunne but it’s tame enough at the same time.

I see Eamon Keane has left Newstalk. Pity as it was an excellent current affairs programme and asked difficult questions of politicians which wouldn’t be asked on other shows.

Dunphy’s new show has been pretty good so far, although like all panel shows it very much depends on the quality of guest.

The Sunday Forum on Radio 1 can be decent, it examines a set issue each week as opposed to a “what it says in the papers” format. Listened back to this weeks edition today which had Fintan O’Toole on, decent discussion. Caution: Terry Prone was also a panellist.

Gerry Ryan is not on air any more. He’s dead.

Unfortunately McCloone also insists on speaking in that godforsaken accent which cancels out any good work he may do. Surely you socialise in the same circles as these ageing hipsters shannonsider?

Phantom arent too bad as they are the only station that plays relatively decent music during the day however i find the accent on the female deejays very nauseating.
they continually pronounce the letter “t” as a “d” for some reason…
the worst offendor is the person who calls out the job adverts around 5, she is on about “dod ned” or “dod com” industries and other places looking for a “php dechnician” who can work “sadurdays”… WTF?

I find jenny huestons show on 2fn on Sunday from 8-11 to be great driving music.

Off the ball is poor enough lads, I was driving down to Naas the other night to spend the evening in the bookies backing the card at Windsor with other racing types and I had to turn it off.
The first hour of the show is just 2 very nerdy sounding guys having a “ laughing at their own humour” type conversation that you would expect to here between 2 arts students discussing the weekends sports action in a way in which they are trying too hard to put a funny spin on everything but just make a mess of the entire proceedings.

I flicked it back on however on the way home tho and found Bernard Flynn very good when the lads would shut up and let him talk

No, WTB, I really only socialise with the arts and crafts set in Dublin. Media types don’t interest me though I do think Phantom DJ Michelle O’Doherty is pretty.

That would be the aforementioned Michelle O’Doherty, DJ and sometime muse of Eddie Irvine, I really dislike her accent myself.

or michelle o doherdy even,

I used to listen to Today FM up to a few years ago but find it desperately annoying now, Ray Foley is the worst culprit i find. I never really listened to the other mainstream stations, i never liked 2fm. Matt Coopers show is the best on the radio IMO and i used to listen to it every evening but don’t get the chance to as much nowadays and anyway it would only depress you in the current climate. I’d have Limericks Live 95FM on most days and would listen away to that. It is easy enough listening, keeps me up to date on the latest happenings around the county and they play a few non-offensive songs here and there, though Joe Nash can be a bit of a pain to listen to…

For coverage of Donegal football Highland Radio is unrivalled.

The biased commentary of Charlie Collins and Martin McHugh is breathtaking to listen to.

Live 95 is a pile of shit.

about time someone said it.

I watched some of this on some TV station last night. The lads look like a shower of geeks and its the first time I realised there was 3 of them. Always thought their voices sounded the same. Can be good to jump into for 5 or 10 minutes but I couldn’t handle listening to it for a long period of time.

Off The Ball is far from perfect but they’re filling 3 hours a day on sport so it’s not easy to make it compulsive listening for the entire time. I think it’s a good show and they have some cracking interviews on it. The intro can be a bit long though - it takes them half an hour to read the sports news and it can be a bit samey.

Eamonn Keane is rumoured to be getting the Gerry Ryan slot in Metro today. He left RTÉ in bad circumstances I think so I’d be surprised to see him going back there.

What’s not bad for music at all is Raidió na Life - 106.4 FM in BÁC. Some good music there in the evenings.

Agreed.

Didn’t the puke have everyone on AFR convinced that Rocko and Bandage were the lads on Off The Ball?

Agree with Dunph on Matt Cooper’s show.