Fucking hate Gilroy.
Fookin John Murray show has taken over that whole Operation Transformation bullshit.
It’s a decent show usually since Tubridy left it and Murray is a good presenter but this type of scutter where they interview fat bastards for an hour is real turn off radio.
I cannot understand why on ‘The Last Word’, Cal Thomas, a xenophobic, gay bashing, fundamentalist, right wing fanatic is allowed to spout his bullshit without any opposition or balance from any quarter. Never on any segment have they had a US pundit with a different view, nor have they cross-examined his commentary in any fashion. Anton Savage does just the opposite and seems to be delighted with Cal’s characterisation of the Palestinians as subhuman monsters. There’s nothing like it on any other Irish radio show.
Cal Thomas would put a pissy little ingrate like you back in your box fairly lively
Whoa there buddy, Cal is an alright sort who knows what’s what, he cuts throught the bullshit. Don’t be getting angry or irate over being told the truth.
I suppose you would rather hear Ed Hayes on telling some shitty auld anecdote in his monotone voice
“If you have never read Cal Thomas before, check him out. He’s the closest thing to a real-life Nazi on the op-ed page: a Hitler Youth with a bowl-cut, mustache, and what appears to be a condescending sneer on his lips, that’s Cal.”
Hook has had a similar idiot on for years, for some reason they felt they needed to copy him.
That George Hook show is unbelievably boring
It’s even more boring than you, Fran.
I prefer bland, Sid
Haven’t listened to Matt Cooper much in a while, but that segment used to have Marion McKeon on providing the balance, and usually making holy shit of him. I always used to find it quite entertaining. When she came home I thought they replaced her with the insufferable Lana Marlowe?
I’ve heard him on a couple of times with Anton Savage, and it really brought home what a useless cunt Savage is. Your man would typically make some bigoted remarks about the Palestinians, the Iranians, the French, or maybe just a non-extreme right political movement in the US and then chuck in a jokey comment at the end. Anton would buckle himself laughing and allow him to launch into another tirade unchecked or contradicted.
At the end of the segment then he would say something like “thanks Anton, you’re a real pro”, and Anton, his ego suitably massaged, would have a big hearty laugh again as if the bloke he’d been chatting to hadn’t been peddling hate-filled extremism for the previous 10 minutes. Cooper doesn’t do much better on the contradiction front but at least he doesn’t descend into the sycophantic, arse licking that seems to come so easily to the spawn of Terry Prone.
I got an internet radio recently, a great yoke. You link it up through your broadband/wifi and can load up your favourite stations worldwide and access them at a click of a button. Much better than pricking around with a computer. BBC radio 4 is the best radio station in the world.
I think that Radio 1 is a grand station, although my listening window is primarily to/from work and Saturday/Sunday mornings. Have to say Morning Ireland is now a quasi-religious habit with me, I’ve been listening to it for so long. The Drivetime program is good also and at least you get variety of voice, Matt Cooper, though he is good, gets a bit monotonous and his sometimes non-too-subtle agenda can show at times.
For music I think 2FM is not too bad, Will Leahy is good. I do listen to Spin sometimes, prefer it to FM104, and it annoys my daughter that I knew about Spin before she did.
How fucking old are you
Older than you for sure, though not as old as you are insinuating.
Ah sure you could be anything from mid 20s up with a child that has developed a preference for radio stations…
I’ve a little one but her taste in music extends no further than the fisher price nursery rhymes CD that goes on when she’s going to bed at night
God help us when she starts developing taste in music