When will crèches open again?

He’s fucked so… Surely he’s pulled someone into his bubble

Unfortunately, @Bandage’s offline persona isn’t great at interacting with other human beings.

There you have it Bando, twitter has spoken

@Bandage whatever became of that kid in your estate that was trying to befriend your family?

It’s a mystery. Haven’t seen him since shortly after I posted about it, maybe around July. If he’s disappeared then I assure you it’s nothing to do with me.

The reporting on this is quite ambiguous. But there’s a quote from the minister in this article that’s effectively telling us to keep crèche children at home next week too. Communication from government has generally left a lot to be desired during the pandemic, except for Simon Harris’ cutesy/Bosco messages to the nation.

Sensationalist headline, gobshites.

I’ve no problems sending my two in. Thetes been zero issues with our creche. Couple of kids sent for tests but no one came back positive. The place is wonderfully run, a community not for profit establishment, and they have been splitting shifts between staff members over the months brilliantly since they’ve reopened.

I’d be more fearful if they were in one of places run for a profit.

If they do close I’m immediately rowing back on my work commitments, no way I could keep tipping along at my current output with the Croppys Junior trying to test the durability of my laptop and body.

Can someone point me to the articles suggesting this is more dangerous for kids?

Am I missing something? From the linked BBC article

There are no suggestions the new form of the virus is a greater threat to children’s health.

Children almost universally shrug off the virus, but the variant could alter the role they, and schools, play in spreading the virus.

That’s in this magic new strain, which is 1 in ten cases here from what we know so far.

I won’t be clicking on the kiro7 link thanks mate. If that’s where we are getting our science then we can throw our hats at it

You didnt ask for scientific journals. You asked for articles.

There is no science behind it. It’s something thats been noticed in the numbers but hasn’t been investigated.

Jesus I’m apoplectic again this morning. The government clearly don’t want the crèches to open but don’t want to be seen to close them so they’re leaking and spinning -

Jesus, you’re not going to send your precious child in are you?

Sure look, we never said the crèches should close.

Bastards.

It’s now going to be like trying to put shit back into a dog. Once they start messing with the school openings it’s game over - the unions will demand their extra holidays every time cases surge. We’re going to be in rolling school closures until we reach the end of the 9,000 day vaccine roll out plan.

I’m not being difficult, just genuinely curious. I don’t want to be putting the child in danger obviously, but I can’t see anything other than hysteria based on nothing.

What hysteria?

@Bandage’s

Twitter / TFK / society in general. I had a text from a very level headed pal last night asking me I was sending my child back to crèche on Monday.

We need to ask Mary Wilson if the science has changed and if this is now more dangerous for small children.

The job is done. Objective reached… It’s now commonly believed the new strain is more dangerous to children and nothing will change opinions.

@Bandage calm down ffs

There is absolutely no suggestion anywhere that it is more dangerous, just that it may be infecting more kids. The majority of kids shrug it off.

I think ye are missing the point. Why is it OK to send kids to crèche and not to school? They mix more in crèche than school. It all comes down to money.
More guidance has been released today saying that funding for ECCE will be available for next week so full creche rate will not apply.
What’s the point of a lockdown if little Johnny or Mary get the virus in crèche and have no symptoms and bring it home and one of their parents is looking after someone that’s in their bubble that’s old or has health issues?