Who wasn't bugging GSOC

Youā€™re the one refusing to answer questions?

Iā€™ll go again.

Now how many times have Gardai had to use (or brandish) their firearm in Roscommon over the past decade?

yeā€™re both asking the same question ye fucking muppets

Iā€™d imagine there were plenty of armed GĆ”rdai called to that ruck/eviction issue near Strokestown about a year and a half ago. Just saying like. The Rossies are an explosive race.

So you agree that a deadly weapon is the correct response on occasion when faced with a maniac, you are making progress. Your only issue now seems to be how well trained the person holding the gun is, do you know what training a detective undertakes?

I believe that in certain circumstances there is a need for specially trained armed units whose function it is to bring some control to situations of grave public danger particularly with organised crime and so forth.

I do not believe that rank and file detectives should be carrying firearms in low-crime places like Roscommon however.

That is a significant distinction.

Roscommon has at least one man in it willing to shoot and kill a guard.

He didnā€™t have a gun though.

Guns escalate matters and there is no reason why anyone other than specially trained armed response units should be carrying firearms.

they did a great job with John Carthy didnā€™t they

He shot and killed a guard. He is by definition an incredibly dangerous man.

Yes, with a Gardaā€™s gun.

Not sure what youā€™re on about but that unit is for the Gardai to sort out and provide the requisite training, vetting and recruitment to.

It would worry me gravely if more Gardai were carrying guns. I did not think your run of the mill detective would be allowed carrying a firearm but seemingly they are.

Yes. So even in low-crime areas, there are incredibly dangerous individuals.

detective gaurdas. must be a power thing, youā€™d maybe understand carrying it if he was in Dublin but doesnt make scence around there. horrible thing and his family are shattered.

What difference does that make?

The responsibility for this is 100% with the suspect.

The mental gymnastics (or else outright stupidity) from some lads here is fascinating to watch.

You take a very dim view of detectives
ā€œrun of the millā€
ā€œrank and fileā€

if the Garda in question had the requsite training and is commissioned to carry a firearm, let him do so.

There are very few facts as to what happened in Castlrea:

The Garda in question was shot with his own gun is one of the few.

To indulge in about of whataboutery is a complete waste of time, breath and energy.

By your logic the IRA would not have killed Jerry McCabe if he had been unarmed

So why would you need to be introducing them to fatal weapons?

Possibly not.

But itā€™s the policies Iā€™m taking aim at, why on earth would a detective in a small town in Roscommon where Iā€™m sure serious crime is relatively low, need to be carrying a firearm on patrol?