Who wasn't bugging GSOC

I’d imagine that this trained detective, who very bravely answered this call, felt he wound need it. Again, I’m only speculating, but I’d imagine he knew he was dealing with a very dangerous individual (as he was) and went armed. Things went wrong for the poor man and this other evil bastard shot him.

We know absolutely nothing about the man that shot him, can you let this stuff go until we know a bit more ffs

Are you still blaming Roscommon air for John McGahern?

Due to the proximity to the prison?

Due to the established disregard to the Gardai in the area?

He always carried and this was force of habit?

It made his wife feel safe knowing he had some protection when patrolling alone?

It made him feel like a big man in the sticks?

In order not to feel overmatched given some armed robberies in the area in the past?

Speculation is a wasted pursuit.

We know that the weapon was a Garda firearm, people can speculate on the man apprehended for it as much as they want, I am not.

I’m making the point that this would probably have been avoided if he did not have his firearm on it. I cannot comprehend the need for a Garda to be carrying a firearm in a place like Castlrea.

@Fulvio_From_Aughnacloy is defending a murderer now , :eyes:

Someone gets shot, I don’t think you need a fatal weapon around a small town like Castlerea.

I find it scary the prospect of some gardai carrying guns when you see how they operate.

It’s a tragic case and the Gardai should make changes to their policies as a result.

A very bizarre way of looking at it. You are putting blame on the detective and the Garda policy when this bastard decided to murder this man all by himself.

We dont know if the murderer was armed with his own weapon.

there are far too many unkowns to make sweeping statements and advise on policy, it’s far too reactionary.

no point on passing judgement until the full picture is revealed.

We do know he was shot and killed with the Garda’s firearm

So why are you defending the need to have Gardai armed with firearms when it has resulted in the death of one of their own just doing his job.

It’s cost a life.

Ireland has one of the highest rates of homicide by fire arms in the EU.

Through organised gangland crime.

Dealt with by armed response units.

Can you give me an example of some non-organised crime and shootings?

Here’s a case of one of your buddies shooting dead an unarmed guard who was responding to a domestic incident.

He was a Garda informant.

And what good would the Garda having a gun do? Crevin had a death wish and was taking other people with him no matter what.

@Fulvio_From_Aughnacloy

There are not enough FACTS to rebut anything you say nor are there enough to confirm same, you are entitled to your opinions but i will hold fire until more evidence comes to lights.

You can tell the lads who are the outcasts in society by reading just a few posts . @Tank and @Fulvio_From_Aughnacloy two fucking cunts straight away .

You are a sad cunt god love you

One of the most infamous shootings in the past 20 years took place about 30 miles away from Castlerea.

Not now…