Who wasn't bugging GSOC

I dont think he was trying to score points off it, I think he was just saying that guns are very dangerous evil things.

Itā€™s a reality.

Youā€™d feel more for the lads who engage repeatedly.

Exactly.

Thereā€™s a lot of lads who are out here batting for a police force mired in corruption and incompetence to carry fatal weapons when there seems to be little need for them to do so.

It was always coming back around to this

It wasnā€™t before today. Are guards meant to be psychic now?

No but Garda HQ should foresee the danger of firearms.

No point scoring here.

Itā€™s garda policy that contributed to this garda losing his life.

Last time Iā€™m going to comment to you on this,

no it wasnā€™t garda policy that killed this man.

As usual you are getting all incredulous and sanctimonious without being able to understand what is being said.

Itā€™s a nice act but itā€™s a bit hollow.

If the garda had not been carrying a gun then the likely result is he would still be alive. I donā€™t think there should be armed Gardai other than the tactical and trained units like the armed response unit. That is a garda policy failing and should be looked at as it contributed to the death of a garda doing his job.

Now piss off and stop trying to play to the gantry.

How many of the 89 guards were killed by the ira?

Thatā€™s not what heā€™s saying at allā€¦

Pol Pot will be in shortly to temporality close the thread, murky waters ahead.

At least 23 apparently by different republican groups, the most common cause of death

A good portion of those 89 Gardai murdered by IRA/SF. The Pretend IRA that are getting hot and bothered by Gardai carrying weapons donā€™t seem to have a problem with IRA/SF carrying guns.

Maybe if heā€™d been carrying a taser heā€™d still be aliveā€¦

Would I be wrong to assume the reason the guards began to carry guns in Ireland is because of the ira?

Iā€™m not sure. The full list is here, that 23 will include the anti-treaty IRA which was responsible for a few

I never knew of that one in Mullinahone, must ask the aul lad about it

Didnā€™t realise FF/IRA killed so many gardai.

Totally forgot about that Guard who was set alight inside the station by that nutter in 1999 a horrific way to go. Is that guy still inside?