Who wasn't bugging GSOC

Does Kiely bring him back into the fold now?

Of course he does!

Malachy and O Neil to return in 2022 :open_mouth:

He was quashing penalty points, they all did it, is it right no. Fair enough.

Thatā€™s all they could come up with after 2 years of investigation (costing the tax payer millions no doubt) and destroying the mans reputation and career.

Slightly disproportionate donā€™t you think? Will they be pursuing every other guard who fixed points for their mates with the same vigor?

Do you have a personal relationship with him or something?

He did him a favour once, but he doesnt like to go on about it.

Thatā€™s all they could proveā€¦ā€¦

Yes, the headline suggests that he was being investigated for a far worse crime. Do we just not bother investigating Garda corruption in the future?

It appears soā€¦

Youā€™d have thought theyā€™d have had something to go on before they named him and suspended him?

I donā€™t know the chap at all, by all accounts a sound man and was pursued because of an agenda against him based on nothing to do with corruption. Two years of dragging him over the coals and investigating everything he did and they came up with a few penalty points being quashed.

If thatā€™s what you are worried about then Iā€™m sure the time of the Garda corruption office could have been better spent.

Maybe he should try not breaking the law in future and heā€™ll be ok, whether heā€™s a sound man or not. Everybody else did it is not an excuse

Heā€™ll be grand sure heā€™ll be on a full pension now and probably a nice pay off from us the tax payers

Look, firstly I get that youā€™re upset presumably because of his link with Limerick hurling.

I think this is what ultimately undermines your argument. Maybe the ā€œsure they all did itā€, ā€œsure theyā€™re not pursuing them all the sameā€ , ā€œsure heā€™s a pillar of the (hurling) communityā€ arguments are good enough for you. They arenā€™t for me though. As has been seen in recent years (and particularly in recent weeks) the Guards have a huge culture problem. It needs to be absolutely rooted out - individual by individual - and a clear message needs to be heard internally and externally that that sort of behaviour is not compatible with a career in the guards. This guy seems to be part of this problem rather than the solution. At a lower level maybe you give him the benefit of the doubt. At Superintendent level - not for me.

Some more nice detail here

Iā€™d zero time for that guy, but I feel the outcomes of investigation have been disproportionate. They brought some sergeant to court on two counts of quashing traffic tickets. Its seems like these lads are scrambling for convictions after there massive, high profile corruption investigation has only yielded a few lads quashing speeding tickets.

This wouldnā€™t be a Bally/Bally thing would it?? :laughing:

I heard a good one the other day in relation to a tear aways interactions with lawā€¦

It appears he can get away with it in Kilmallock but he is target No1 in Bruff.

Says it all really about the Gardai.

Look the Guards are rotten to the core, as I said I donā€™t know the man at all, I wouldnā€™t defend someone just because of their involvement with Limerick GAA, couldnā€™t give a fuck about that.

But Iā€™ve heard from people well placed, that the man was singled out for reasons nothing to do with corruption and then a stick was found to beat him with after. Iā€™ll leave it there, because Iā€™ve only half a story.

@Raylan surely knows the score

Being a Guard must be great craic, drinking pints and doing lines during your shift. They should put that on the recruitment literature, might find a few Guards with a better personality

Just marginally behind being a prison officer.

Them lads have it grand & soft