Why do teachers get pay rises

Has any official body quantified what the effective benefit of the pension is per year per grade in % of salary I.e a teacher gets 30k but an employee pension contribution of 25% etc. It’s surely not a difficult calculation and would go a long way to informing the debate. When people accept jobs it’s for a range of benefits, not just the salary, and these should be clearly defined

That’s a stupid argument that always gets thrown out for the teacher’s annual strike, mate.

They get paid for 9 months work over a 12 month period.

So 30k for 9 months work. Finally.

How is it a stupid argument? Why is your neighbour jealous of teachers? He could equally have pursued a career as a teacher of he wanted? What’s his gripe?

Why are they paid during 3 months they don’t work?

I’m paid for my 25 days annual leave just like teachers are paid for their 70/80 days annual leave.

Also, if an employee accepts a salary offer in any job, private or public, they can’t exactly come whining about inequality. You were happy to accept on clearly stated terms and conditions - you weren’t exactly mislead. In practically every private sector there are employees doing similar work at different levels of pay based upon factors from when they started through to how well they negotiated their pay. It’s not exactly a human rights infringement like the ASTI seem to be implying. Sure even in their “equal pay for equal work” they seem to ignore their preferred model of “different pay for equal work if you’ve been there longer and managed to successfully get older”

It’s a bizarre argument.

Are you saying teachers should choose teaching as a career path because it’s a handy number rather because they would be good at it or have a genuine passion in it?

That’s exactly my problem with teaching. There’s a far bigger supply than demand for teaching because in the free state, teachers take the piss. Put them on a par with the nurses/gardai and other public servants in terms of working hours/annual leave and salary and see how many people would pursue it then.

That’s wrong because there was a promise of pay restoration, just not a timetable.

It’s also a bullshit proposition because in an economy where we had 15% unemployment every offer was understandably accepted.

To allow for easier financial planning I suppose. Teachers aren’t paid for the three months of summer. This a fact and I encourage to continue this discussion on that basis.

Surely that can be turned the other way to suggest that if the pay/conditions are not to their satisfaction, teachers (or guards or any employee) can leave that position and pursue something else.

There’s little evidence to suggest it’s difficult to recruit teachers currently or they are being lost which would suggest at a market level it’s still an attractive career and appropriately rewarded. On the other hand, they have had difficulty in recruiting nurses which would suggest they need to make it more attractive.

This is how the main employment market works - why should teachers be insulated from that?

So pro rata, they get a starting salary of €40k in comparison with other public servants?

Compared to gardai and nurses who earn about €23k.

I don’t even understand what you’re suggesting here.

Do you think that teachers should only do the job because they have a passion for it? And so should accept low wages?

No, they sign up to do a job, for nine months of the year, and they are paid accordingly.

Grand, At some stage in the next 10-100 years, when the state can afford it, at the discretion of the minister (which I understand is the clause in FEMPI) pay will be restored to 2006 levels. Everyone happy?

Is this where the debate ends up in your eyes? The market is always right?

Yet they only have to work for 9 months but are paid through 12 months compared to other public servant workers who work for 12 months.

€30K X 4/3 = €40K
€23K X 12/12 = €23K

That’s pro rata.

I doubt it really.

You were asked to throw up all the salary scales for everyone to see, why don’t you just do that and stop trying to move the goal posts?

I think certain people only undertake teaching as a career as you have a quarter of the year off and get a decent starting salary and other associated perks you could dream of in most careers.

I think that should be taken out of the pictures and then you will have teachers who are suited to teaching.