Asexual reproduction, mate?
So they don’t receive any money in the months of July and August? No wages are paid into their bank accounts in that period?
They are not paid for July and August, correct. I can’t speculate about teachers bank accounts.
I broke a potato peeler last weekend. It’s not as easy as it looks.
If they receive salaried payments in July and August then it’s a paid holiday.
A teacher with a few years time done would be earning close to €40k a year for 8/9 months work. They are accountable to nobody. Fair play to the teachers for managing to pull this off but the bubble they live compared to reality is staggering. They should be made take on other duties in the summer for 40 hours a week. I would prolong the school year to a 4 week summer holiday and cut out the mid terms. I wonder what the dropout rate would be like then?
€40k is shit money mate.
You couldn’t pay me €400k to be a teacher.
It’s grand for 8 months work twiddling your thumbs.
If your idea of twiddling your thumbs is putting up with the generation of young insolent cunts that the country is currently producing, then you are welcome to it.
I’d be in jail if I was a teacher. I’d have strangled a few of the little cunts by now.
You wouldn’t have the guts for it.
So start off out of college at 24 in a permanent post and by 31 you’ll be making 40k, doing 22 hours of teaching a week and a total of 18 weeks of holidays a year. Add in some tax free grinds if you’re anyway decent, some optional extras like supervision/correcting exam scripts, summer camps, some sports coaching ect and you can be making a nice bit of cash.
Teachers always go on about “preparation time” but it’s such a load of crap. Our Maths teacher in school who routinely pulled in 100% of his classes getting As/Bs at higher level at leaving cert had all his notes done out 20 years ago. He changed them slightly every 4 or 5 years when a new maths book came in. Project Maths would have required a good deal of changes accepted, but that was a once in 25 year overhaul of the course. For a subject like history nothing ever changes- they brought in a “Project” for students which just consists students picking out a piece of history they like and running with it. The result of World War 2 isn’t changing anytime soon. All the best teachers put effort in their first few years to come up with materials for down the tracks.
That said actual teaching can be difficult and the best ones are underpaid - but they are a unionised profession so tough shit. The amount of teachers coasting by is ridiculous.
They do…?
He asked me about permanent teachers, mate. I’m not arguing that teachers are/are not over paid just that they don’t receive pay for the months of July/August.
In fairness, every job down here pays twice as well as up north of the wall.
What is all this shite about anyway! With Croke park and Haddington road agreements, teachers haven’t received a pay rise in ten years.
Ok guys.macs wife is a teacher.thats why he is so tetchy here.for newbys on the forum the least he could have done is stated that so when he started posting on this thread
They’ll be waiting.
Things must be on the up if the whole public v private is kicking off again
Thats bollixology
I assumed it was in your dossier?
No, it’s not.
The countries that work their teachers harder pay them more. Pound for pound Ireland matches the majority.