We’re well on our way to working it out.
Taught in the Irish system for nine years and the English system for three months now. Would draw following conclusions:
- Majority of teachers in both systems work hard
- Irish curriculum is vastly superior to English
- Large amount of bureaucracy in English system and lot of extra hours are spent doing things that are of little or no benefit to the child
- Calibre of teacher in Irish primary system is excellent. Calibre of teacher in English system is good
I think Irish education system is getting more like English one now though. Greater emphasis on standardised testing, less discretion and status of job in Ireland has taken a knock over past ten years. If this continues education system and ultimately the state will suffer.
I’m not sure how you are struggling with this, the answer is there for you just accept it. Teachers unionise themselves and treat their profession like labour units in a factory, trading away performance related pay and instead giving standardised increases based on experience.
It’s just the way it is.
You’re not really teaching in the English system though. English curriculum yes. Huge difference between your average school in England an a private expat school.
Fair point. Point remains though that Irish system is superior to English.
I’m sure it more than evens out at second level as the Irish system is a farce.
Not really. English system of a-levels means students specialise ridiculously early and lack a broad education. I was absolutely appalled at the lack of basic education amongst many English colleagues in a school I worked in.
Another answer that is just describing the question. They get increases based on experience. But we have already established that more experience does not benefit any of the stakeholders in the education system, ie the student (higher quality tutoring is futile because the curricula are standardised) or the state (ability to teach more students at once is redundant because class sizes are capped). The question of why is experience that is no benefit rewarded, is just an elaboration on my original question.
But thanks anyway, and no need to reply, I’m pretty sure everyone understands the answer to this question now.
Let’s focus on the more pressing matter - how we’re doin’ it better dan de feckin’ Brits.
[Edit] actually just saw the last line of your reply. I suppose this is the best answer on this post yet.
Yes I think that point was made several times
For fucks sake. All your logic is based on your own situation, if what you’ve said is true. Many many jobs have weirdly structured payments. I suppose the idea is that if the salary is absolutely guaranteed there is no incentive to work hard so there are increments based on the farce of hitting targrt to ‘earn’ their increments. So that’s the ‘reason’ teachers get pay rises. That and the fact that they’ve had more than most stripped off them in the last few years do a fucking hard job and deserve every penny.
Can you bump the post where this was established? I don’t think it has been. You just assumed it. You’re not very good at this reasoning malarkey.
Let’s assume that it was indeed an assumption. Now I’ll ask you to disprove it as true. I’ll start the response for you, just to steer you in the direction of a sensible answer, unlike the hysterical babbling that accounts for 150+ of the responses so far.
A more experienced teacher is of a higher value to the student and/or the education system than a less experienced teacher because…
Go read something and come back with an answer you stupid cunt.
Oh well, that’s about as articulate an response as could have been expected I suppose.
I think we’ll leave it there everyone. Thanks for taking part, 'twas an interesting experiment if nothing else.
All the best.
…like everything else* in life you get better at something the more you do it. Next question gimp.
*almost
Ergo, as your point is attempting to imply, with everything in life, the better you are at something, the more value you will be to stakeholders. Right?
I would dispute this point. One good example is a that a Taxi Driver who has 3 months’ experience (and a perfectly well working GPS navigator), is not worth any less than the guy who has been cabbing for 10 years. The latter may well be “better” at the job, and his experience may mean it takes far less effort to make the same amount of money, but the service to the client and the overall benefit to society is the same with both levels of experience. Another good example is a teacher.
Why do teachers get a 30% higher starting salary and at least double the annual leave of their nursing/garda equivalents?
Labour boy @Juhniallio thinks this is an entitlement for teachers.
What do I think now? That teachers are worth more than guards and nurses? Just want to clarify your nonsense before I address it.
I want you to justify your continuous defence of teachers?
Why should teachers get double (at least) the annual leave days of equivalent nurses and gardai and a 30% higher starting salary?
And then they go looking for more.
Do you know that teachers aren’t paid for summer, and it’s not annual leave?