I remember dipping out early from a work christmas party, and returning from the North Wall area with 60 xtc pills, and in a pocket destroying act of generosity, handed them all out for free all night to any colleague who could be persuaded to take one. Safe to say, the whole show was royally upended. Like being transported back to the temple theatre in the early 00’s.
Id say you were some craic back in the day😆
My type of lad.
The concept of a Friday - Sunday work party is alien to me, didn’t realise they were a real life thing
…or as a drinkingfriend/colleague used to term me, ‘the liability’.
Struck the right balance yesterday. Out for a lunch with a bunch of people that are sound but it’s more of the fake environment that was mentioned earlier. A few glasses of wine made it tolerable.
A few of us then who used to work in the same team and have since moved to different roles all met up then in the evening in a cathedral and absolutely skulled the shit out of a load of Arthur’s finest. Open conversation, noone worrying about offending anyone and a bit of good old fashioned craic. Started just after 5 and we were done by 10.
The head was pounding all day but one of those ones that was worth it cos of the type of night it was
Sounds like a helluva night
In fairness the staff in our place are good. Almost 95% attendance. I show and go through the motions. It stands out not to attend.
In my old place it didn’t go to any of the functions for about 10 years. Morale on the staff was low, poisonous even and it manifested itself on poorly attended school events.
One of the lads was telling me one of the girls working for him abused him (not in a good way) at the Christmas party last week. He got a very sheepish text the following day. The fear of that
The missus had her one last night. Lad from Limerick doing the absolute dog on the free bar. Cocktail, pint and whiskey; multiples rounds of.
In today and she got the goss. Your man stuck the gob on some young wan. He tried desperately to get her to let him stay at hers. She refused. He continued to text her from the bus station to change her mind. No dice.
Gets last bus. Doesn’t wake at his stop. Ends up in Killarney. Has to sleep rough until first bus to limerick.
First call this morning was with HR who explained his behaviour wasnt befitting of their expectations etc.
Tis the season…
A dryshite
Saturday or Sunday would be strange alright but Friday is surely the most common night. The logistics of all staff needing to be under the limit to drive to work after a Thursday night party would be a challenge alone. Not that likely at 7:30am on the Friday. Plus the not insignificant factor of a good few being hungover at work.
Imagine the fcukin FEAR the poor crater must have had waking up at the bus stop this morning and seeing HR were looking for him .
Was this in dublin?
Thursday is the optimal Christmas party night. Die a death on work time then
Anything else is only a cod
It was
What the fuck? This fella was at a christmas party in dublin but was getting a bus back to limerick? Setting himself up for a fall. But the company should surely be putting him up?
Think his sense of outrage is way down the pecking order
A wise work colleague did once say that’s it’s better to be hungover on work time than you’re own time.
I had reason to be in leeson st in the early hours of thursday morning. We found this lad absolutely fucked in the foetal position lying on the path. Helped him up… took about 5 mins…must have picked his phone up for him about 5 times. He was fucked. We flagged a cab and fired him in. Fair fucks to the taxi fella for taking an obvious hospital pass as yer man managed to mumble celbridge. I felt smug, knowing it had been me on many many occasions in my younger days. Thankfully that fella is a much rarer beast these days. Pulled a houdini from my own affairs about an hour later before i became that guy…