Limerick GAA - it's Box Office - Always Has Been, Always Will Be

Hup

Fairly embarrassing a team with the pick of Limerick plus a Clare senior struggled to put away a school that didn’t even have a hurling team five years ago.

Your tears are delicious

My alma mater beat the reigning champions by 17 points mate.

Beefy’s young fella was in goal for CBC.

Today is the fourth anniversary of the death of Rathkeale and general mushes legend, Shane Hourigan. Jaysus, where have those four years gone?

Looks like our lads stuck with Laois for 50 odd mins before being battered in the end by 9

Sounded as if we just never had enough in attack to go ahead, Walsh did a bit of damage at the other end. Apparently Donal O’Sullivan made a couple of good saves too.

An absolute gent!

Just back from O’Moore Park.

It really is a labour of love following the footballers. Everyone involved doing their best but we really are desperately limited. Honestly think we could struggle to win a match this year.

Laois probably played as poorly as they have in years but were still deserving winners, even if nine points flattered them.

Lack of a free taker continues to kill us. Missed a 14 yard free in the first half pretty much in front of the goal. Then missed another getable one right on half time. And another one in the second half. To have any chance they must go over.

Pretty much game over once Laois scored their first goal, we hit the post with a great goal chance not long after but even if it went in you got the feeling Laois would have done enough to push on again.

Fanning and Treacy probably our best performers on the night but slim pickings overall.

Estimated number of away fans - 64.

God bless the M7 and the Barack Obama Plaza. The generations to come will never know what it felt like to travel through places like Mountrath.

Bloody hell,some dedication to go to that.

Fair play to you kid .

Jimmy Purcell’s pub in mountrath is a treasure .

Who was kicking them ?

Jamie Lee.

In fairness he kicked a couple of lovely ones from play and also got the most difficult free of the lot. Probably our best forward but he’s not really comfortable over the frees. Like the Wexford qualifier match last summer again.

That chap they call Psycho was decent for the home side. Their number 7 is a speedster also. Cut us to pieces for the first goal when he burst through.

It was division four and the standard reflected this.

I think Liam Aherne said that 42 players have made themselves unavailable from the Limerick senior football panel since 2015.

And that’s not even including the likes of William O’Donoghue, Jim-Bob and Mike Fitzgibbon who didn’t make themselves available even in 2015.

One change to the Limerick team - Sean Finn replaces Tom Condon. 2pm start for Allianz Hurling League Limerick v Laois in Division 1B #GAA #hurling #LLSport

Ex chairman and terasurer both in my queue at gaelic grounds.

No free pass

Limerick lead by 1.07 to 0.05 after 23 minutes. Gearoid Hegarty goal

Winning by 8 at half-time. Tame enough stuff really.

Cian Lynch is just a fantastic hurler though, his skill levels are unreal. Picked off two scores from distance too which is encouraging, he often passes when he should shoot.

Tom Morrissey excellent too, and Aaron Gillane has really come into it too, he’s the main target man up front and made the goal. Got a yellow card when he was about to set up another.

Dreams by the Cranberries now being played over the crackling PA.

Build him up for the fall.