The Rugby Thread (Part 2)

@BruidheanChaorthainn, this is exactly the kind of rugby commentary Iā€™m talking about. Pointing to all these narrow losses and saying weā€™ll they could have won, making excuses for them, instead of absorbing the clear conclusion that the team consistently losing by narrow margins makes them bottlers. Irish rugby is almost unique in doing this.

And yet people said the exact same thing when Ireland couldnā€™t get over the line for Grand Slams.

It sounded vaguely clever then or at least a compelling narrative. Chokers, bottlers, cursesā€¦nice for newspapers.

Croker is a sellout

Johnny has to kick that pen, Doris canā€™t knock that on, the hooker has to score if he is breaking off there when they are heading over anyway.

Individual errors cost them. Two simple skills and a bad piece of judgement. Is that bottling? I dunno- but they did leave it behind them.

There might well be better Irish teams but they will never have a better chance. Its a bit like England at Euro 21ā€™.

Stupid post. Newspapers never speak about the Irish rugby team in such terms.

Munster might as well starting on minus 14 when playing Leinster and these are 2022/23 figures.

Leinster have the same budgets as Ulster and Munster but donā€™t have to include 11 of their best players.

An impossible task.

Aside from 2 of the last 3 top14 finals

A criminal loss last season

I donā€™t think theyā€™ve been clearly the best team in France and fighting on two fronts isnā€™t easy.

Iā€™d agree with the latter point

They do actually, they feed this stuff to you. You just have notions about yourself so think it is uniquely insightful.

Can you not read or do basic math?

Yer man fell off the tackle- theyd mounted an amazing in game comeback-I had them at 8s in runningā€¦in fairness-Ntamack was the only 10 in the world whod have got through that gapā€¦LR had effectively worn them down.

Fuck it @Tim_Riggins your faith in Leinster Rugby and the 12 County Army is admirable.

https://twitter.com/willocallaghan/status/1781316613024731280

Marshall and Mehrtens mention worthy.

Dawson and Wilkinson?
Ah heeeyor

Justin Marshall and anyone

Doris is a Mayo man sure. Leinster were very fortunate to snare him. Basically supports @BruidheanChaorthainn point as he moved to Blackrock for secondary school in a clear attempt to further his burgeoning rugby progress. Connacht could have himself and Robbie Henshaw still.

Who were the supposed golden generation? Paddy Jackson, Craig Gilroy, Iain Henderson and Luke Marshall? Nevin Spence (RIP) as well. Big Stu and Rory Scholes came along a little bit later, Chris Farrell hardly played for them.

*quarter-final