Go on
I donāt have much information but supposedly one of the local members of the travelling community was targeted in a pipe bomb attack. Guards were at the scene all night but information is thin on the ground. I donāt believe there was an explosion.
So it was just a pipe attack?
Haha. Serves everyone right . Fellas fawning all over this lad and he goes and does this. Iām off to the vindication thread.
TFK Exclusive
Fuck right off.
#Rugby comes Home
Will be a great boost to the city.
Good that itās in a city center location, will surely become a āmust seeā for all visiting rugby fans.
And to think people wanted to crush Munster Rugby PLC once upon a time. Where are those people now? Where I ask you?
Where are they putting it? And what the fuck will they house in it? They should think about having a blank canvas/wall and letting the 200,000 that attended the All Blacks game in the 70s sign their name on it.
Good man fair play.
I was just going to comment that there must be 500 different posts in this thread bemoaning the state of o connell st and itās neglect. The first piece of positive news about the redevelopment of it and all we get is pissing and moaning.
One is moved to Cork and the other fella is locked in his bedroom below in Ballingarry crying into his Bryan Robson pillow
At the corner of Cecil and OāConnell
They will have interactive exhibits I assume like where you put on special glasses and everything spins around as if youāve been concussed.
Will the walking tour be updated to include it?
We havenāt gone away you know.
I hope the building collapses, killing hundreds.
Based solely on recommendations from this forum I dined at Khing Thai last night, accompanied by my partner. I must say firstly that the food was superb and certainly lived up to the billing. However, everything else about the place was just chaotic.
Firstly on walking up the stairs we opened the door to the lobby which made a big unmistakeable ringing sound, as the door crashed off the chime things overhead which were purposefully left there to alert staff that someone had entered the premises, I assume. In the lobby was a counter, till, menus, a couch etc. We waited there for someone to come but no one was coming for a while. No big deal, I opened the door to the restaurant and stuck my head in. There were a good few customers in there seated but no sign of any staff and I didnāt want to walk to the back of the restaurant looking for a table myself, assuming there was even one free down the back. My partner decided sheād pretend we entered the lobby once more so opened the door again and this time swayed it back and forth rocking the chimes loudly and unmistakeably, I thought, about the restaurant. We waited another short time but again there was no-one from Thailand approaching us.
At this point we decided weād just open the restaurant door and walk in until we found a member of staff we could approach as we walked through the restaurant passing tables of people eating their dinner. I couldnāt see anyone who seemed to work there when then a Thai chap lounging across a chair at the back of the restaurant spotted me and sort of clicked his fingers at someone and pointed at us. A plump little Thai woman wearing a red Christmas jumper emerged out of a dark corner, approaching us smileing widely and sat us at a table.
The food was great. They gave us a basket of some sort of crisp thing and a sweet chilli dipping sauce and it was smashing. Whilst the restaurant was very full I quickly realised that most of these people werenāt eating anything. There were Thai families with young kids everywhere and they were just casually sort of taking up space, hanging around there. Basically as far as I could ascertain this place is some sort of social club or play area for Thai families living in Limerick city. There were young Thai kids everywhere just running amok about the restaurant. There was one girl in particular who spent most of our meal roaring and shouting at the top of her voice to a local older couple. I learned that her age is 8 but tried my best to drown out the rest of the screaming.
At the end of the meal before we left I decided I needed a piss. The waitresses (two) had both disappeared again at this stage so I realised Iād have to find the bathroom myself. No bother says I as I made my way to the back of the restaurant where most of the Thai parents were seated. I had to run an obstacle course to even get back there as I stepped over a few kids that were just crawling about on the floor playing with toys. Nobody paid me a blind bit of notice. There were darkened corners everywhere back there but I couldnāt see a toilet anywhere and no-one was even looking my way to point me in the right direction. I actually ended up walking into the kitchen in the search for the bathroom. I just gave up and we paid and left.
An interesting experience all in all. The food was great as I say but Iād nearly get a takeaway the next time. I wouldnāt recommend any of ye take a woman there or anyone else you are trying to impress. Equally I donāt think theyād care one iota about my review and they seem to be doing just fine there in their organised chaos.
I think you got very unlucky there mate. Iāve never had an experience like that there. The venue isnāt great alright and it can be very cold in there sometimes, but the food is savage. Iād give it another try.
Whereās that place bud?